Secretly Smitten

Written By Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter
Image from Gooreads.com
Description from Goodreads.com
Source Booksneeze
 
 

Description

Summer, fall, winter, spring–Smitten, Vermont, is the place for love . . . and mystery!There’s a secret in Grandma Rose’s attic–a forgotten set of dog tags belonging to her first love. But David Hutchins was killed in action and never returned to Smitten. How did the dog tags end up in the attic?The mystery intrigues Rose’s three granddaughters–Tess, Clare, and Zoe–and they decide to investigate, though their mother, Anna, warns against meddling. But as the seasons turn and the mystery unravels, the three young women and their mother encounter some intriguing mystery men of their own. Has a sixty-year-old puzzle sparked something new for this close-knit family of women?Join popular romance novelists–and real-life BFFs–Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter for four delightful intertwined tales of mystery and sweet intrigue

 

My Thoughts

This is a hard one for me to review. It’s not that I didn’t like it. I didn’t dislike it, it’s just I didn’t particularly like it either.

Secretly Smitten is a collection of short stories that all add a link to the chain of the book. Each story focuses on one of the women in the family. They are trying to solve the mystery of the dog tags found in Grandma Rose’s attic, they belonged to her presumed dead first love, and in doing so, they find love of their own. This sounded like a book I’d love. A little romance, a little mystery, short stories I could read really quickly, but I felt like it was missing something. I don’t know, oomph maybe? It was just SO sweet. Everything was perfect, nothing was messy. It wasn’t realistic enough for me. I just couldn’t see life ever going that way. And the so-called “mystery” wasn’t very mysterious, at all.

The characters were nice enough. No one to really dislike and no one to really like. That’s the problem. They weren’t special. They all shared a common thread of insecurity, which was a bit annoying at times with their whole ‘oh, he couldn’t really be interested in me’ attitude. Again, this one is hard for me. I wish I had more to say about it. It’s not good, it’s not bad, it just is. I suppose there are people who would enjoy the simple sweetness of it, I guess I just prefer a little naughty with my nice. If I had to pick a favorite, I go with the first story Love Between the Lines by Colleen Coble. This was the most believable of the  four.

Did I like the book? I guess.

Did I love the book? No

Would I recommend the book? Probably not

Overall Rating: Eh?

Favorite Quote: “With God’s help, I will spend the rest of my life making you happy.” Michael

Leave a Reply

