Automaton

Written By C.L. Davies
Image from Goodreads.com
Description from Goodreads.com
Source Author
 

Description

In the not too distant future, after the huge successes of role playing games and virtual worlds such as The Sims, Second Life, and reality shows such as Big Brother, it was only a matter of time before somebody took the next step. A remote island. An android population existing only to entertain. Their lives broadcast around the clock and around the globe. Their actions dictated by their owners. It’s the world’s biggest game played by thousands. Welcome to Gameworld. Dean 3012 is a good guy living on the Island. He loves his girlfriend, Lily, and with their first baby on the way, life is perfect. But when things take a sinister turn, the couple is plunged into a world of darkness and despair. Dean must take control and fight for all their lives
 
 

My Thoughts

I’ve really had to spend a lot of time thinking about this review. I’m not sure what to say, so I’m just going to say what I feel.

Automaton sounds really interesting to me. Gameworld is a virtual/real island where everyone is being controlled by their owner yet they have no clue they’re being controlled, even when they do things they wouldn’t ordinarily do. It’s a mix of gaming and reality TV. In other words, there are very rich people controlling their character’s every move and there is the rest of the world watching it like a TV show. The problem is the characters of Gameworld are able to think and love and live, but one careless owner and their lives can be destroyed almost instantly. Sounds great, right? I suppose it is, if you’re into science fiction, which after reading this book, I realized I’m not. It has nothing to do with the book really. I should have known, as I’m not a fan of Science fiction movies, but the synopsis really intrigued me. Enough about my dislike for the genre and lets move on to the book.

The cast of characters were a bit hard for me to follow. Each chapter focused in on either one of the Gameworld characters, one of their owners, or the man in control. Because it jumped all over the place and from person to person, I had a hard time getting attached to any one character. They were all disposable to me. I realize it had to be done in order to properly tell the story, but I missed having a character connection. What I found most honest, for lack of a better word, is the obsession the owners had with their characters. It happens all the time in reality….. maybe not to the degree of this book….. at least not yet, anyway. These people were losing their real life lives, and some their minds, because they were too consumed with the game. This is a harsh, if not scary reality check. Lets be honest, so many of us are constantly checking our games (mine is my smurf village) and our kids are even worse. This book shows you just how far it can get. At what point do we say enough? What happens in this book can EASILY happen in real life, in the not too distant future.

Was this book for me? No. Do I have several friends who’d love it? Absolutely, because the book is a good, quick read, it just isn’t my kind of book. I think it would make an excellent movie or even a TV show, however, science fiction, unfortunately,  isn’t my thing. Lesson learned. If it’s your thing, buy the book. You’ll enjoy it.

Did I like the book? Not really

Would I recommend the book? Absolutely

Overall Rating: Good (if you like science fiction)

Favorite Quote: It really wasn’t that kind of book….

 

 

5 thoughts on “Automaton

Leave a Reply

