Harry Potter, The Series That Started It All

6fb8810ae7a00f40a7d12210.L

Image from Amazon

 

Oh Harry Potter, how I adore thee……..

In case you didn’t know it, Harry Potter is freaking awesome. And by awesome, I mean magical, fantastical, spectacular, and every other word you can think of that describes awesome.

Let me paint you a picture. As a child and a teenager, I loathed reading. I know it’s hard to imagine, but it’s true. The only books I looked at were in my hands because a teacher insisted I had to do one of those pesky book reports. Then one day in my early twenties, something amazingly wonderful happened. My husband (then boyfriend) and I were going to take a trip to the mountains and I decided I’d bring along a book so I could appear to be one of “those women” who read her book in front of the fireplace. The book I randomly chose was a hardcover copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. What happened next shocked even me. I LOVED it! A book. A real life, actual book. I loved it so much that I hurried out for the next two books in the series and low and behold, I loved them too!

I had officially become one of those people. You know, the ones who stand in line at the bookstore until midnight in order to get her copy of the next book, and the next, and the next, and so on and so forth and what not….I’m rambling, I know….. it happens when I get excited about something. My point is Harry Potter opened me up to the possibility that maybe I didn’t hate reading, maybe I just hated the book selection I was forced to choose from. Maybe, just maybe, if I explored more options, I could find books that I loved as much as Harry Potter.

I’m sure the vast majority of you have already read and reread all the Harry Potter books. I also realize there are some whack-a-doodles who don’t like it. My mother in law swears she just can’t get into it, a fact I’ll never understand. But for those of you who haven’t opened yourself up to anything Potter or for those of you who have seen the movies, do yourself a favor and give it a go. By awesome, I mean totally, wonderfully, amazingly, FAN-flipping-TASTICLY AWESOME!!!

 

Here is the link to it on Amazon, get it today, get yesterday, tomorrow is too far way.

http://www.amazon.com/Harry-Potter-Sorcerers-Stone-Book/dp/059035342X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362581107&sr=1-1&keywords=harry+potter

Leave a Reply

