BlackBrooke

Written By Emma Silver
Image from Goodreads.com
Description from Goodreads.com
Published October 2012
Source Review Copy from Publisher
 

Description

I live in Blackbrooke and you would have had to be living under a rock to never have heard of it before now. This town is different to most others…Humans aren’t the only residents…”

The residents of Blackbrooke share their town with the Creatures, or Crits as they are known. Grotesque, roaming the streets at night looking for food, their presence means humans have to live by the Rules, keeping them indoors and forbidding them of basic desires.

The most important Rule?

Don’t be a ‘walk out’!

Straight-A student, Liberty Connor, hates the Crits and the endless Rules she and her tight knit group of friends have to live by.

Planning her new life on the Outside with her boyfriend, Gabriel, Liberty whiles away her days waiting to turn 18, so they can leave and be free. That is, until the world she thinks she knows begins to unravel…

Her friends start to walk out. So she’s told. However, something’s not right. Things don’t add up.

Liberty faces a race against time to discover what’s going on with the Creatures of Blackbrooke.

Is it them she has to fear, or something much closer to home?

Blackbrooke is a Young Adult horror novel that has you on the edge of your seat.

 
 

My Thoughts

 

When I first started reading Blackbrooke I was a bit bored with it. I figured out relatively early on that things weren’t as they seemed and continued to read so I could prove myself right. Boy was I wrong. What I thought was going on wasn’t and what was happening was a shocker.

Liberty (Lib) is your typical strong leading character. She lives in a town full of crits (terrible human killing creatures) and frequent walk outs among mostly 17-year-old kids (the towns own personal version of suicide). The question is, why do SO many people walk out in Blackbrooke? Why don’t they simply leave when they are 18? The answer to those questions is how the book hooks you. It’s crazy to say the very least. I’m trying to explain this as best I can without giving everything away, so bare with me. What Liberty Connor had to do in order to save Blackbrooke and be free is amazing, brave, and selfless. What her friend Cassius does to save her is even more so. I kept thinking no way this is happening, they’ll find another way. And just when you think it’s over, you get the shock of all shocks, the WHAT THE HECK?? moment. Then it’s over. Complete cliff hanger. I finished this book with my eyebrows raised and my mouth hung open, thinking wait, what? Is that it? Now I simply must read the next one. There’s no way around it.

In this book you have a decent combination of supernatural, action, friendship, love, loyalty, bad guys, good guys, misguided guys, and fear. Sounds interesting? It is.

 

Did I like this book? Yes

Would I recommend this book? Yes

Overall Rating: Good

Favorite Quote: “You can forge a happy life without me in it, but take you out of my life…it’s not worth living.” Cassius

 

Leave a Reply

