Someone Else’s Fairytale

Written By E.M. Tippetts
Image from Goodreads.com
Description from Goodreads.com
Source Author
 
 

Description

Jason Vanderholt, Hollywood’s hottest actor, falls head over heels for everygirl, Chloe Winters, who hasn’t gotten around to watching most of his movies. She becomes the woman every other woman in America is dying to be, but it just isn’t her fairytale.
 
 

My Thoughts

First lets talk positives. Right off, I ADORE the cover. If I judged a book by the cover alone, this one would be off the charts in ratings.

Now, on to the content.

As I started this book, I got really excited. It seemed to be right up my alley, which for the most part, it was throughout. I really loved how down to earth Jason and his family were. They all seemed to be good, kind, caring people. I loved that this was a no sex book. Don’t get me wrong, I love a dirty sex scene as much as the next girl, but lately it seems that’s what everyone is doing and it was refreshing to see a romance novel focus on love for change. I like that Chloe wasn’t a fangirl. I loved that she had a past, which helped to define who she’d become. I think my favorite character was actually more of a supporting character, Kyra. Loved the way she was broken and doing things all wrong and I loved the way Chloe was able to bond with her.

Gosh, I say love a lot….anyway, back to the review.

Time for the negatives.

I didn’t care for the pace everything happened. The book moved WAY too fast. I would have liked a bit less in this book and more for the next. As it stands now, I see zero need for a second book, even though I know there is one. It all happened in this one. Everything. I wish the situation with Chloe’s brother had gone on a bit longer. It was such a huge deal, but was over almost as soon as it started. I really, really, really disliked Matthew. Immensely. So why on earth, after he did what he did, the author felt the need to continue to include him was beyond me. Let him go, he wasn’t that likable to begin with. Then there’s the leading lady herself. I liked Chloe and I didn’t like Chloe. I like that she wasn’t interested in the glam and fame and the celebrity status that came with Jason, but I hated the way she acted about it. “No, you can’t buy me stuff”, “no I’ll pay for my own food”, “no I can wash my clothes”. I mean, let the guy be nice to you already. You aren’t your mother, we get it. And lastly, I really didn’t care for the way she was so clueless. I hate that in books. I’m a woman, I know when a guy is into me, always have. It’s pretty obvious.

Where does this leave my opinion? It’s good. I enjoyed the book. It was light read and good for when you don’t want to have to think too much about what you’re reading. I liked it. It’ll take its rightful place on my bookshelf and I’ll encourage anyone to read it if they like a little lighthearted romance. Am I dying to read the next book in the series? No, but I probably will anyway and chances are I’ll like it too.

Did I Like the book? Yes

Would I recommend the book? Yes

Overall Rating: Good

Favorite Quote: “It’s the happily ever after that makes a fairytale. I mean, come on. Everyone knows that.”

Leave a Reply

