Nobody’s Damsel

Written By E.M. Tippetts
Image from Goodreads.com
Description from Goodreads.com
Source Author
 
 

Description

Chloe has finished her masters degree and taken a job as a forensic scientist back in her home town of Albuquerque, New Mexico, only the press will not leave her alone. They follow her to crime scenes and report on her every move, eager to show that her marriage to Hollywood A-lister, Jason Vanderholt, is on the brink of collapse. Millions of fans who dream of their own celebrity romance with him want this more than anything. This scrutiny comes at a particularly bad time as Chloe’s first case is a crime against a child roughly the same age that Chloe was when she survived a homicide attempt.Now that she sees the case from an adult’s perspective, she realizes it’s much harder than she ever dreamed. It’s even worse for Jason, who is two steps removed from the crime. He must watch and try to support his wife as she battles with past demons and tries to keep up with a nameless suspect who evades identification and capture. Never has Jason been more frustrated with his job, its frivolities, and its lack of connection to the real world. When he storms off the set of his latest movie, the press goes wild with conjecture. Perhaps he never was anything more than a pretty face after all.

Together, Chloe and Jason must find their way past all the popping flashbulbs and through the dark maze of the criminal investigation to discover whether they can balance their professional goals with the demands of a celebrity marriage. The odds are entirely against them

 
 

My Thoughts

First of all let me once again say, just like the first book, I love this cover. These books are quite pretty.

Now for the book. This was the second book in this series and I’m surprised I was asked to review it after I said I thought the last book was a stand alone novel and I didn’t see the need for a second book. That being said, I’m glad I read it. Just like Someone Else’s Fairytale, this book could be a stand alone novel, but at this point I’m happy it’s not. I really liked this book. Much more than the last. I wouldn’t classify this one as a romance, simply because the marriage storyline seemed to play second fiddle to the mystery storyline. Chloe is focusing on her career as a crime scene investigator or a crim, and Jason is focusing on finding his place in the intrusive world of acting.

The crime that takes place is horrifying. The author didn’t go into graphic details with it, but she didn’t need to. It’s hard for Chloe to deal with because of her past, but she pushes through and helps to solve the case. I cried. I’m not even gonna lie about it. I cried three times reading this book. Once when the mystery unfolds, once with the little surprise we got there at the end, and once more when I read the dedication at the end. If a book makes me cry, then it’s alright in my book.

As for the romance, eh, you know, it was there. I didn’t like how Jason was about his ex, but I get it. He’s an actor and Chloe has to deal. I love that he was always honest with her and that for the most part she trusted him enough not to go crazy. I liked the paparazzi guy who seems to always be in the right place at the right time, no matter how annoying it was to Chloe. I loved the sweet letters on their gate. There’s just so many little details like that that really made this book for me. The only thing that really irritated me was Chloe’s mom, she bothers me. I can’t help it.

I am most definitely looking forward to see what’s next for Chloe and Jason. I will certainly be reading the next book.

Did I like the book? Yes

Would I recommend the book? Yes

Overall Rating: Really Good

Favorite Quote: “Life got rough sometimes. That was nothing new to me.”

Leave a Reply

